Hack the HAckers

Devender Rao
3 min readMay 4, 2022
Photo by Clint Patterson on Unsplash

While reading my feeds I came across a post with “hack the hackers” Heading , so I think lets try and I tried to find bugs on THM ( Try HacK Me ) .

# **Tryhackme** :This platform is good for beginners , who want hands on experience in cyber world. I also used it a lot in My starting days.

You can signup and start using it tryhackme .

Can we skip to the Good part ? *Sure *

I found some bugs on the platform :)

  1. Password Reset link was not expiring After Email is changed .

Summary:-

Password link should expire if another request received , time span limit , password changed, already used or account’s email changed . In this case , If the email is changed they forget to expire which received on old email.

Steps +>

  • User request password change link on abcd@mail.com email .
  • After this User changes account’s email address and verify it .
  • So now User have new email xyz@mail.com
  • If he tries to change password from email received on abcd@mail.com then password changes .

2. Email changed with wrong password

My friend ask for my THM profile , I think lets change email address and give him, but I forget my current password, I enter abcd and it accepts .

Des:- When we try to change the email , it asks for current password before proceeding further. Now enter any pass and email is changed . I received an verification link on my new email.

Steps +>

  • enter profile section
  • enter random password and new email to change
  • a error recieved that your password is “incorrect”
  • Now refresh profile page and you will see that verify your email address and a email is sent to new email .

Update email address …

4

Ask for Current password …..

Entered wrong password and error comes.

Refresh profile page and you will see

Verify the new email and account is verified ….

They didn’t verifying the password on backend , also sent the verification email on new email address.

3. Now Time is for love one The Rate Limit 😀

There was no rate limit on password reset link endpoint . You will receive as many links as you request. -

  • Visit forget page
  • enter email address and send request
  • Set null payloads as 20–30-50 (any) and start the attack
  • you will receive emails for password reset .

Send the request in Intruder and set payload as null

Maza aa gya :)

Tata — Good Bye <:_i_:>

--

--